MEMORIES OF MOTHER DAY

by Temerity Views [Queen MaiaCer Lysette]

When I was a child, Mother’s Day included wearing a corsage of red carnations or roses so that the world knew my mother was alive, cooking breakfast for my mother, and taking her out for Brunch after Sunday Mass. Rows and rows of females wore either red or white corsages (white, if your Mother was deceased). I loved making gifts for my mother. Each year, my brother and I sang a song to our mother written by Theodore Morse and Howard Johnson called MOTHER. {I have supplied a link for the words}. This is the manner in which we celebrated in our family.

Mother’s Day is celebrated around the world in more than forty (40) countries. Although there are variations in date and the original concept, It still basically honors motherhood everywhere.

I love the concept of Mother’s Day in the UK. It is Mothering Day and was related to the Mother of Christ. In some countries it is also related to returning to Mother Church. As a feminist, I am particularly found of the Bolivia’s Mother’s Day. . . ” It is the day we pay homage to the one who gave us life in pain, and it is indirect homage to the nature of the mother who is creator, provider and protector all at once. Thus we can see that, in spite of the centuries of colonization by the patriarchal Spanish society, the Pachamama (Mother Earth) continues her influence and powerful presence in Bolivian society.

The mother plays a leading role in the Bolivian character. She is the one who gives life and is the basic pillar of the home. The woman is the most important person in the home; she’s the one who is in charge of the household economy and the steady support for the entire household. . . . ” { https://info.handicraft-bolivia.com/Mother-s-Day-an-event-tied-to-Bolivia-s-history-a30-sm162}

Happy Mother’s Day to all who nurture the young and contribute to the next generation.

Leave a comment